Kelsey Randall tagged out at home after OIT catcher blocked direct access to the plate
@SOURaiders @SOU_Softball @Kelsee_R
… or was she safe?
SOU beat Oregon Tech this morning in extra innings to continue their season. They play again at 4:30 today (5/7/16).
The call above could have been the difference in the game though. The umpire ruled the runner was out without considering the obstruction rule. Here it is:
9.4.1 Obstruction is the intentional or unintentional act of a defensive team member that hinders or impedes the progress of a runner who is legally running bases, unless the fielder is in possession of the ball, in the act of fielding a batted ball, or in the act of catching a thrown ball.
1. The defensive player must be in the process of catching the ball and not merely positioning, waiting for a throw to arrive.
So did the defensive player position and/or wait for a throw to arrive while obstructing home plate? You be the judge:
Oregon Tech catcher blocking (obstructing) home plate without the ball
Another odd thing about this play is (in the series of seven photos showing the entire sequence that I have) the umpire began calling the runner out (with his fist) long before the tag was made. The top photo is the last in the sequence, and it’s the first showing a tag. The umpire was opening his clenched fist in this photo. He had an “out fist” in the three photos prior to this one before the tag.